Emptiness of the Heart

Jesus, what can I say?

The Words we said tonight

Ripped our hearts in half

Sitting here. I dwell in the echoes

“We Just won’t work,”

My stomach knots and my heart

well, it is numb

Hours ago it was on fire

Hot from the warmth of your love

Now it is cold in the void

Left to wonder through the chambers of my heart

I lie here, staring at the ceiling

The words

WHY WHY WHY

dangling and creeping through my brain

How could I hurt the one

who has shown me only love?

The answer: the selfish insecurity

that shared my body with my soul

Insecurity had left for a short time

left when I fell in love with you

You made it disapppear

Where there was a gap you built a bridge

Where I was dead you brought life

Now the words you’ve said

brought it all back

the insecurity rushing through me

drowning me

suffocating me

I can’t breathe, I can’t see

Our love ‘s death has stopped for us

telling us it’s over

that it’s time to go

Lord, my heart wants to stay

it is not time to leave

We just started our new journey

Together, our hearts and our minds have locked

joined to make one thought, one steady heart

I stand here, tears cage my eyes

stinging them with every drop that closes

around them

The wet tears fall down my cheeks

run into my mouth

I think only of your lips

that once embraced mine

The softness of the touch

the sweet bitterness from the taste

I rub my my soaked cheek

rubbing the wetness in, so I can feel you

your tears, your pain

wondering if you feel mine

Fearfully I tremble as love races

around my heart. It reminds me

of the rough ocean we travel through

that nothing is easy

nor handed to us

Giving up and washing the blood stains

off our hands would be to simple

To endure, to press on, to overcome obstacles

is what true love thrives on

Our love is true; it must stay true to survive

Death is here

Pleading with you, just as i am

Whose hand will you hold?

Whose ship will you ride the ocean on?

Whose lips will you embrace?

Whose heart will you take?

 

 

 

 

 

 

By A. A. Ashna

~ by helensmashna2612 on June 23, 2012.